

## Department of Justice Office of the Minister

PO Box 7, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada B3J 1T0 • Telephone 902 424-4044 Fax 902 424-0510 • justmin@novascotia.ca

June 1, 2021

Via email: <a href="mailto:cfrotten@barringtonmunicipality.com">cfrotten@barringtonmunicipality.com</a>

Mr. Chris Frotten Mayors and Wardens of Southwest Nova Scotia

Dear Mr. Frotten,

Thank you for your letter dated May 28, 2021 on behalf of the Mayors and Wardens of ten municipal units in Southwest Nova Scotia.

Safety and security for all Nova Scotians is my priority. I acknowledge the concerns raised by your respective municipal units related to the announcement by Sipekne'katik First Nation of a Food, Social, and Ceremonial (FSC) Fishery to commence June 1, 2021 in your region of Nova Scotia. The Department of Justice remains in consistent communication with relevant stakeholders inclusive of the RCMP, municipal police, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Coast Guard and Public Safety Canada. Coordination and planning are imperative to preventing conflict, and deescalating conflict should it arise.

I can assure you that there are comprehensive plans in place to proactively support the safety and security of citizens across the province, and in your region specifically. Additionally, I have been assured the appropriate level of resources is in place to respond to any escalation of conflict.

Should any citizen of your community witness a criminal incident, I urge them to contact their local RCMP detachment. Further, if an incident is one of acute concern, please call 911 to report the emergency.

Government is committed to ensuring people feel safe in their community. Thank you for taking the time to write to my office on behalf of municipalities in Southwest Nova Scotia.

Regards,

Randy Delorey Minister of Justice

cc. Honourable Bill Blair, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Honourable Bernadette Jordan, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada cc. Municipality of Argyle Municipality of Barrington Municipality of Clare Municipality of Digby Municipality of Shelburne Municipality of Yarmouth Town of Clark's Harbour Town of Digby Town of Lockeport Town of Shelburne